What is The Idaho Hunter Education Association?

The IHEA Treasure Valley Chapter, is a non-profit organization made up of Hunter/Bow Hunter/Trapper Education Program instructors, certified by the Idaho Department of Fish and Game, who have come together to perpetuate Idaho’s Hunter/Bow Hunter/Trapper Education program.

Mission Statement – the mission of the IHEA is to develop and maintain a group of knowledgeable, certified instructors who share the love of teaching firearm safety, responsible behavior and hunting skills to the next generation of hunters.

Purpose – the purpose of the IHEA is to ensure that sufficient training materials, teaching locations and certified instructors are available to meet public need. The IHEA also provides an external resource to Fish and Game staff for reviewing new materials or programs and making constructive, thoughtful recommendations.

The IHEA holds monthly meetings the first Tuesday of each month from 7-9pm at the Hunter Education Center in Garden City or the Fish and Game Nampa Regional Office. The IHEA’s active voting membership is comprised of members that maintain paid membership status. The initial membership fee is $20, and dues are normally collected at the December general meeting. Meeting attendance is open to all certified instructors; however, only members that are current with their dues are allowed to conduct official business and vote.

IHEA Treasure  Valley Chapter Officer List

  • President:  Don Sturtevant                             Term Expires End of 2018
  • Past President: Vacant                                    Term Expires End of 2018
  • President Elect: Vacant                                   Term Expires End of 2018
  • Treasurer: Jay Stark                                         Appointed Position
  • Secretary: Marcie Orem                                  Term Expires End of 2017
  • Board Member: Ed Haas                                 Term Expires End of 2019
  • Board Member: Ron Galloway                       Term Expires End of 2019
  • Board Member: Lynn Seibold                         Term Expires End of 2018
  • Board Member: Ike Fullington                        Term Expires End of 2018